C.Y.M.S. St. Felim’s Branch book, “A History in Pictures and Stories” now available

The newest C.Y.M.S. St. Felim’s Branch book, “A History in Pictures and Stories” is now available for purchase, from either Easons or the Clubroom. The book itself outlines the history of the Club, and Cavan in general, from the 1890s to the present. At 232 pages, priced at €10.00, and filled with hundreds of pictures going back over a century, “A History in Pictures and Stories” would make a great gift for any family member interested in the Club or local history.


Vacancy for Supervisor/Caretaker

A vacancy exists for a Supervisor/Caretaker for Cavan CYMS Snooker Club. The job involves evening work, and the candidate has to do 19.5 hours per week. The post itself is offered through the Community Employment (CE) programme; to qualify you must be on a social welfare payment for twelve months or more. Payment will either be your current social welfare payment plus an additional €22.50 per week, or €220.50 a week, whichever is more. Additionally, you can also work part-time, on top of this role, without it affecting your social welfare payment. (More details on the Community Employment (CE) programme can be viewed here).

All enquiries to Catherine McGovern, Community Employment (CE) Scheme Supervisor, Castlemanor, Cavan. Phone: 087 9974943.


The website has been migrated across from it’s old host, and has been redesigned and rebuilt. There is still a little bit of work to be done on it, pending feedback, but the majority is now done.

Book Launch

The official book launch on the “History of the Cavan CYMS”, by the Most Rev. Leo O’Reilly D.D., Bishop of Kilmore, will take place on Tuesday, the 16th of October, 2018, at 7.00pm, in Johnston Central Library, Farnham Street, Cavan.

Test Post

“Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.”

“Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem accusantium doloremque laudantium, totam rem aperiam, eaque ipsa quae ab illo inventore veritatis et quasi architecto beatae vitae dicta sunt explicabo. Nemo enim ipsam voluptatem quia voluptas sit aspernatur aut odit aut fugit, sed quia consequuntur magni dolores eos qui ratione voluptatem sequi nesciunt. Neque porro quisquam est, qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit, sed quia non numquam eius modi tempora incidunt ut labore et dolore magnam aliquam quaerat voluptatem. Ut enim ad minima veniam, quis nostrum exercitationem ullam corporis suscipit laboriosam, nisi ut aliquid ex ea commodi consequatur? Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem eum fugiat quo voluptas nulla pariatur?”


2017/2018 Committee Members

The following were elected at the most recent Annual General Meeting of the C.Y.M.S. Saint Phelim’s Branch, held on 26th of October, 2017, in the C.Y.M.S. clubrooms in Farnham Street, Cavan.

Position Name Contact Details
Honorary Presidents Michael Breslin
Richard Cassidy
Johnny Lynch
Sean Walsh
Kieran Cullivan
Anslem Lovett
Oliver Malone
Chairman Enda Corr enda.corr@yahoo.com
Vice-Chairman Martin Sexton
Hon Secretary/Treasurer Paddy O’Reilly paddyoreillyudc@hotmail.com
Assistant Hon Secretary Ciaran Flynn
Assistant Hon Treasurer Barry Gardiner
PRO/Liason Officer Declan Moran
Committee Sean Coyle
David Connolly
Stephen Maguire
Barry Shields
Michael Meehan
Paddy Brady
Marius Kettyles


CYMS Senior Snooker

CYMS Senior Snooker Brian Smith beat Phelim Coffey Paddy O Reilly beat Peter Walsh Jim Fay beat Bernard Sharkey. Junior Hugh Murray beat Thomas Wilson Paul O Keefe beat Paddy Maloney Brian Walsh beat Peter O Hanlon Noel Carmichael beat John Sheridan and James Murray beat Martin Sheridan.

Cavan CYMS 1973

Cavan CYMS 1973:President Jimmy McCormack, Chairman John McCaffrey, Vice Chairman Benny Cafferty, Secretary Bernard Johnston, Treasurer Paddy O Reilly, Committee Jim Fay ,Hughie Smith, Hughie Maguire, Mickey Breslin Arthur Downey and Tom Crowe,

Cavan CYMS Table Tennis Committee 1973:Pesident Rev D O Dowd, Chairman Seamus De Faoite, Secretary Maura Farrelly, Treasurer Miss M Beirne. Membership £1 now due.

Death of John M Breen

Death of John M Breen BA MA former Professor in Saint Patrick’s College at the age of 86 at Saint Gabriel’s Hospital Cabinteely Dublin on last Saturday. Native of Callan County Kilkenny, he joined the staff of Saint Pats in 1923 and retired in 1955.Group leader Cavan LDF and Red Cross. Secretary and founder member of Cavan Executive Fianna Fail. he was a founder member of Cavan CYMS in 1936 and Cavan Drama Festival 1945. John M Breen is survived by his wife Jennie, sons Rev Dan Breen Mourne Road Dublin Rev Sean Glencullen, Kieran and Oliver, daughters Peggy and Ita. Funeral from Saint Patrick’s Church Glencullen to the adjoining cemetery.